Closing

IMG_1509

We’re scheduled to close on Nyack Nest this coming Tuesday…!

In the meantime, I’ve explored and (I think) abandoned the idea of hiring an au pair and instead have begun investigating the world of infant daycare.  If anyone has any recommendations, please let me know in the comments!  There is a chain called Children of America that is close to us, affordable, and with long hours (6:00am-6:30pm, wow), but it gets mixed reviews so I’m not sure what to think.  Then there are a number of in-home or smaller independent childcares to check out once we’re in the new place.  Either way I’m sad to lose the daily language exposure we’ve had with our great full-time babysitter/nanny in Brooklyn but I didn’t have much luck finding Spanish-speaking local sitters on care.com, so…c’est la vie, I guess.  At least Nyack Montessori has daily Spanish – fingers crossed that our oldest will get a spot there or another pre-K…

I’ve set up gas and electric with Orange & Rockland and scheduled FiOS installation (no more TWC means a whole new set of Spanish channels to explore…) but failed to call Nyack Water – or is it United Water? (oops, hopefully they can do that last minute), and failed to choose a washer/dryer (still! I know.).    I’m working on bringing up furniture and (!) a grand piano from my grandparents…and our apartment movers are scheduled.

Also, I think we’re going to buy a minivan.  I won’t be twisted between two carseats in the back of the Subaru entertaining/feeding the kids during long car trips anymore.  So yes, I am super excited about it.  I think my husband is a little embarrassed for me.

Okay, readers, what am I forgetting?  So many things, I’m sure…

Leave a Reply

