Making Valentines with a 3 Year Old

Last year our poor son was the only kid in his preschool class who didn’t have Valentines to give out.  (Luckily, he was 2, so he was just thrilled he got a bunch and didn’t seem the slightest bit perturbed that he hadn’t had anything to give in return).   But anyway, this year, I decided to be a bit more (ahem) proactive and emailed his teachers.  They informed me that they don’t officially get involved with this, but most kids do bring them to distribute and that they do provide an envelope for the kids to bring home their Valentines.

So, I took that as my go-ahead to try to make a dent in our craft bin before the move.  Then I found myself wondering:  Can my 3 year old use scissors well enough to cut a heart?  So, you can probably surmise from the fact that I don’t know the answer to that question that this is not exactly a Martha Stewart with kids kind of household.  But I decided to give it a go anyway.  I was pretty sure his school blog had mentioned they’d used scissors at school, and his fine motor skills are pretty decent overall.  I drew the shape of a heart on some construction paper and gave him some fun-edged scissors (maybe not the right choice).

Verdict?  My son didn’t have nearly the strength/control to cut out a heart, even with the Sharpie guideline.  BUT he absolutely loved directing me to cut out hearts of varying sizes and colors from our construction and foam paper options and gluing pom-poms and paper cut-outs to them.

Here’s a shot of 3 year old valentines in progress:

2014 Valentines in ProgressThere, don’t you feel better about your home crafts projects now?

Leave a Reply

